Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rhapsdy

Canna producing LOTS of seeds!

rhapsdy
12 years ago

OK - a friend of the family gave me a bunch of cannas last year and I didn't even notice if they made seeds last year. I'm a novice gardener but trying to learn and love the results of flowers in the garden!

This year we've had a warm early summer and I've had gorgeous canna's that have grown massive, put out beautiful flowers, and while it's still flowering nicely it's also got tons of seeds! Today I went out and collected all of the seed pods that were dry and cracking, and now have tons of seeds!

A few questions -

Do I just hold on to these seeds until next spring and start them then?

Or, since it's really just the beginning of our summer here and we have at least 3 more months of hot weather (possibly even more - I'm in south Louisiana) can I start them now and grow them this season?

Also, do people trade seeds on here? :)

Comments (10)

• rhapsdy
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Oh - and here are some pictures :)

Seeds galore!
    {{gwi:533255}}

Anyone able to ID this canna?
    {{gwi:533256}}

Journey's End Canna
    {{gwi:533258}}

• livsauntieshel
    12 years ago

You could start some now if you want. Canna seeds need to be scarified or soaked prior to sowing, because of the hard shell. The seeds you start now probably won't flower this year, and they may have a rough time making it over the winter if they don't have a large enough rhizome. You could bring them in the house over the winter, and keep them from going dormant by leaving them in a sunny window.

I am jealous of your early flowers. The only one of mine in full flower I bought at a nursery 2 weeks ago. One of my others that I got from Horn is just starting to show a stalk but no flowers yet.