Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
maywren

Handling Rust when Fungicides Aren't an Option?

maywren
18 years ago

Hi There:

Before the hurricanes, my cannas were located along what you'd call a lake margin. The soil was very moist, but not innundated. Now, of course, they're standing in about 1.5 feet of water, which hasn't bothered them at all. They've multiplied at an astounding rate and are blooming nicely.

But now, for the first time since I planted them two years ago, they've been hit hard by rust. And, of course, I can't use a fungicide near the water. If I simply cut them back, will they re-leaf this year? (I'm not very experienced with canna behavior.) Is there a non-toxic rust controller?

At the Kanapaha Botanical Garden, they just sort of let their cannas go--to the leaf rollers and the rust. There are just too many there to fuss. By the end of the summer though, the cannas look pretty ratty.

Any suggestions?

Comments (5)

• jenna1
    18 years ago

I honestly don't have any experience with anything that would or wouldn't be environmentally safe for something that's actually in the water. But did have a couple thoughts that may help a little.

The first one is to cut the infected leaves off and either burn them or put them into your garbage can. Definitely don't compost them if you're a composter. After the cannas have flowered you can cut the stalks down and get rid of them.

In the meantime, once you've cut the 'bad' leaves off, mix a little dish detergent in water and spray the rest of the plant. Since rust spores are soil based, and spread by winds/breezes, this may help to keep it in check temporarily so that you can enjoy the blooms.

Being in Florida, I would imagine that they will put out new growth and that you'll get flowers again if you're going to just cut them completely back.

Jenna

• sinner_gurl
    18 years ago