Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
threeorangeboys

What is wrong with my cannas??? photos

threeorangeboys
16 years ago

I'm so sad. This is my first year planting cannas. I was so excited to see them, but they look terrible. I don't see any bugs on them. Maybe it is a disease? too much water? too little?

{{gwi:534468}}">

{{gwi:534471}}">

{{gwi:534475}}">

Comments (15)

• gardengirlz2
    16 years ago

maybe the need to be watered more? the leaves look dry. I ould remove the brown leaves or portions of leaves. what kind of soil are they in? you might want to compost around them, it usually holds the moisture better and has lots of fertilizer.

• ornata
    16 years ago

Google "Canna virus". Or possibly a pest, like red spider mite?

• threeorangeboys
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Do spider mites like cannas? How much water do they need? Should I water them pretty regularly?

• redsnowflake
    16 years ago

When I relocated mine recently, the largest one got a little too dried out (silly me dug them up, *then* prepared the new hole... lol) and one of it's leaves looked like that. It ended up with almost a papery texture. I'm no expert, by any means, in fact a newbie, but based on my recent experience, I'd say they are getting dried out. Cannas are tropical plants and love water.

• nyssaman
    16 years ago

All my cannas are in big pots with a good compost soil with wood chips on top - I fill them with water every day - cannas love water - I think they(yours)are just dried out - it sounds like you dont water on a regular basis - Cannas are often sold at water garden nurseries because they love water so much - Honestly I dont' think you could drown a canna.....lol . Remove the dead leaves and water the Sh*t out of it.

cheers

• marquest
    16 years ago