Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
taz6122

How long do blooms last? Newbie

taz6122
14 years ago

This is my first year for canna and I bought and planted seeds from ebay. The add only said red canna. My blooms are very small and have only lasted 3-5 days. Is this normal? Are the blooms the right size for the plants age? Will they ever get any bigger? Here's a couple pictures so you can see the plant and the blooms.

{{gwi:521629}};{{gwi:534789}}

Comments (9)

• irishmoya
    14 years ago

Quite impressive growing from seed. I have had numerous "volunteer"s in my yard from seeds when I'm digging them up in the fall. My experience is that growing from seed the canna plants will be much smaller as opposed to when you plant rhizomes.

Once established the Canna's will be prolific in growing and thus blooming. Water and fertilze throughout the summer. The canna's size and blooming is dependent on ample water, sun and fertizer and of coure good soil. Next year plant the rhizomes from this years Canna's in the spring and you will be several feet higher this time next year. Your canna's look good and healthy

• canna2grow
    14 years ago

Cannas grown from seed are interesting but depending on their source (parents) they are highly unreliable as to genetic makeup. You can only assume them to be an unknown seedling.
    Your photos would indicate to me that you simply have a small flowered hybrid that will forever produce a small flowered bloom. The plant may grow in size as the season progresses but the bloom size will remain small. You may see a slight increase in the number of flowers produced on each bloom cluster but overall the genetics of the plant are fixed and the results will remain more or less the same.
    Regards,
    Kent

• taz6122
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Thanks moya for the compliment.