Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ladybarber101

Newbie questions about cannas?

ladybarber101
17 years ago

Okay so I am new to gardening and have fallen head over heals for cannas and daylily plants with all the different variety.. I have been reading through all the threads and think I may have a virus in a set of red canna in two pots. I bought them about 9 days ago at @ walmartI seperated them into two pots like I had all the others that I had purchased and planted in the last 3 months. Potted in jungle growth soil along wih alittle peat moss to help them get some room before sticking them in the ground because there were so many roots it couldnt live much longer it was strangling itself. Now it looks verigated and yellow. The blooms just droop and I dont know what else to do.. but ask your advise..

I cant figure out how to upload pics but I have all my photos in my yahoo account. Any help would be appreciated and I will check after a while.

You can go to:

http://pg.photos.yahoo.com/ph/ladybarber101

Thanks again

Donna

Comments (5)

• sylviatexas1
    17 years ago

couldn't get the link to open, it said TCookie invalid.

Were both cannas blooming red when you bought them?

If not, they could be different kinds, one red, one yellow variegated;
    WM is famous (infamous?) for mislabeled plants.

Drooping blooms may be transplant stress or just age.

I don't know what jungle growth soil is, but here we plant cannas in the ground, usually in our native soil with with very few amendments, mostly a little well-aged compost, so maybe your potting medium is too rich.

or maybe it's the peat moss:
    Peat moss is very very dry, & it's too hard to get it wet.
    I think it actually wicks water away from roots.

(You might also post on the Florida forum, or check with a local garden club.)

Best luck!

sylvia

• ladybarber101
    Original Author
    17 years ago

Sorry I got a corrected link to my photos..

Here is a link that might be useful: ladybarbers photos