Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
edie_h

I think I'm paranoid...

Edie
13 years ago

And my cannas are in the garbage. (Not the band Garbage, but set out for yard waste pickup in the morning.)I just pulled my green-leafed cannas, since after reviewing this forum and the links to Hart's, etc, they really looked virused to me. And they were just getting ready to flower. :-( Pic below.

This is my first year growing cannas. Starts were given to me by my local cooperative extension staff. The staffers said they had had virused cannas in the past, destroyed them, and started fresh. My cannas were divisions of last year's batch which they said was "clean." The cannas looked OK at first and then got progressively more streaky and speckled. Could flying bugs have spread this from the raggedy, brown-striped cannas in front of a house two streets away?

I had four NOID green leaf/red flower, and still have four NOID bronze leaf/red flower. The greens were dwarfs so I had planted them right in front of the bronzes. I know it's harder to tell if bronzes have the virus, but they look healthy to me at the moment. I pulled the greens in the hope that the bronzes are uninfected and will remain so.

Think I should pull the bronzes, too?

Here is a link that might be useful: canna I just pulled

Comments (3)

• canna2grow
    13 years ago

If the only cannas you are growing appear reasonably clean why would you consider discarding them?
    Many gardeners are growing cannas, hostas, roses, tulips, etc that are diseased, but perform to their satisfaction. The individual unsatisfactory plant would be discarded when necessary. Most cannas in the last few years have been diagnosed with virus infections. The virus is not new, but we can now identify the problems we were seeing in the plants for the last 20 years along with the name of the causal agent. The result has been widespread panic by the somewhat knowledgeable gardeners and many horticulturalists.