Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
irish_rose_grower

Which are the 'cannas' to have?

irish_rose_grower
18 years ago

Hi. I'm new to Canna growing and have been reading over some posts here.

From what are read there are cannas and then there are the cannas to have.

Which ones have the biggest pretties flowers? I have 2 so far, not sure of the names.

Thanks,

Maureen

Comments (7)

• keithrnjd
    18 years ago

I like Intrigue for its foliage, burgundy with tinges of green. Constitution I like for both the flowers and the foliage and Wyoming for the deep red flowers. I also like Indian Shot for the foliage, which is a mixture of green and burgundy, too. Stuttgart have nice varigated foliage.

Sally

• Mikey
    18 years ago

It all depends on what your individual taste is in color of flowers and foliage. For example, I don't like pink or white flowers and I would therefore not recommend them. I suggest looking at the flowers/foliage on a site such as the site below. - Mike

Here is a link that might be useful: Canna Photos

• ljrmiller
    18 years ago

I like the the species-like cannas: Canna x iridiflora 'Ehemannii', Canna 'Robert Kent' (or a similar name), whatever Yucca Do has on offer, Canna 'Erebus'.

• samiamvt
    18 years ago

Admittedly, orange flowers are not for everyone, but you simply must have Canna 'Pretoria' (aka 'Bengal Tiger) for the gorgeous foliage! It's my number one Canna. Though I think that I think of them as foliage plants anyway.

'Cleopatra' is interesting too. It's leaves are purplish and green, sort of swirled. If the flowers come from the green side they are yellow. If they come from the purple side, they are red. A conversation piece at the very least.

I'm sure you will enjoy whichever Cannas you choose!
    Sam

PS. Plant Delights Nursery has a fun and informative
    webite, with lots of Cannas as well as other "plants with an attitude".

Here is a link that might be useful: Plant Delights Nursery

• skygardening
    18 years ago