Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dorry2

Cannas in zone 7

dorry2
16 years ago

I just love these plants and was wondering if they will overwinter in my zone or is it treated more like an annual in zone 7? Thanks.

Comments (18)

• redsnowflake
    16 years ago

I'm a newbie to cannas myself, but everyone I know around here who has cannas (my grandmother, aunt, neighbor, and kind stranger who shared his 'Richard Wallace' cannas with me) just leaves them in the ground and they come back each year with no problem. We're in 7A - Chattanooga, TN - if that helps.

• chrystallake_2007
    16 years ago

Im in zone 7 near the jersey shore, and they do not winter here.
    Hope it helps.
    melanie

• west_texas_peg
    16 years ago

I'm zone 7b in Texas and they come back just fine for me.

Peggy

• islandbreeze
    16 years ago

There are people around here in zone 6 that have cannas planted and come back year after year. We saw -5F last winter. I planted several, and none came back. I think it just has to be an established planting for them to come back.

• Sheila Edmond
    16 years ago

7b VA cannas come back and reproduce.

• nehketah
    16 years ago

unless they are overgrown i leave them in the ground and they come back fine by spring

• weirdtrev
    16 years ago

For me they only survive the winter if I plant them up against the foundation of the the house. I always dig up all my other ones.

To those of you that have cannas that survive the winter in zone 7 which ones are they? I would love to be able to leave them in the ground.

• watergal
    16 years ago

I have Red King Humbert that survives every year planted up against a south foundation wall. None of the others have come back. We have clay soil, and usually get a lot of rain in the spring, which I'm sure contributes to rotting.

• JohnnieB
    16 years ago