Return to the Canna Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
bloom time

Posted by scgekg Z5 NY (My Page) on
Fri, Aug 23, 13 at 19:40

This is my first year growing any canna. I planted about 10 and most grew fine. Two have now started to bloom this week. In zone 5 is this when I should routinely expect blooms, (mid to late August) and is bloom time likely to be the same if planted in the same place next year? It seems if I dig them up and re-plant in the spring then every year is "the first year". I had expected them to be bigger plants and bloom earlier, so I am not certain I would plant in the same area. The tallest is about 4-5 feet at the flower. Most are not red-leaf. They are planted about 2 feet apart. Thanks.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: bloom time

As you will learn, each different cultivar will mature and begin blooming at slightly different times. Planting time and growing conditions vary for all of us each year but for your area mid/late July to mid-August might be the norm for blooms to be produced. In the northern climates greenhouses often start cannas early and when transplanted outside they are blooming in mid/late June. You may want to try to start a few of your cannas in 6 inch pots inside and transplant outside when the weather is settled.

As you suggest, every year is a first year and the plant spacing in your area typically can be from 14 to 24 inches. You should see an increase in rhizome growth and expansion over the next few weeks. Are your cannas getting 6 to 8 hour of sun and when did you plant? Let’s hope you have a late frost this year.

Kent

o

When did you plant them? What is the sun situation in that spot?

o