Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jbcarr_gw

Tall cannas falling over

jbcarr
18 years ago

I have Intrigue and Stuttgart in part sun. They flop over either at flowering or just before. I figure its from lack of sun (?). Or maybe this is just a characteristic of the tall cannas/variety. I have some banana cannas that never flop, but are in more sun. Thanks Jim

Comments (9)

• nucci60
    18 years ago

mine are too! not only falling over, but after the first flower spike blooms, the second spike sits there and won't open. I thought these plants were easy. I asked this Qquestion (falling over) and did not get any answers from the forum. The get plenty of sun and water. come on, canna people, help us novices

• Downeastmd
    18 years ago

My cannas are all between 8-12 ft. tall, and I haven't had any problems except when the wind speed reaches a certain point, I am no pro but it sounds like to me the root system isn't receiving the proper nutrients to be able to support the plants up to the flowers itself. It could be a soil issue, also what have you done as far as fertilizer and ammending the soil?

• nucci60
    18 years ago

I put peat moss into the soil before planting. they are in with a lot of impatiens. I stopped using miracle grow about a month ago, because the impatiens were producing too much foliage, and not enough flowers. have not fertilized since. they are just 5' tall(wyomings) and just stopped doing anything.

• username_5
    18 years ago

canna=sun (for best results) impatiens=shade
    canna=dump fertilizer on them impatiens=little fert required
    canna= drown in water impatiens= water if you have to, wet feet kills them.

I don't know why your cannas are falling over, but it simply isn't possible to meet the cultural requirements of both in the same spot.

• nucci60
    18 years ago

thank you for your help. so you cannot over water canna?

• username_5
    18 years ago