Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
shpnquen

Got my cannas late, now what?

shpnquen
15 years ago

I am totally new to Cannas. I admired one in a garden last year that had yellow flowers & made it my mission to get some this year. I bought some mixed rhysomes in bags from Walmart, so far, only one has grown, still no flower, but it's 2 ft. tall. Then, I came across the Tropicanna back in Aug. on clearance at Lowes for $7.50. Several in a pot, planted them just like they were in the pot & nothing. In fact, some leaves have dried, but no growth. I've watered pretty regularly as I have dry sandy soil. They're in mostly sun, but there is morning shade for a brief time. Did I need to do something more like separate them or should I just keep watering & wait until frost to dig them up & try earlier next year? Any help is greatly appreciated.

I'm also considering the hardy banana they had at Lowes for $7.50 too, just not sure where to plant it.

Comments (5)

• tess_2008
    15 years ago

Cannas like full sun and after they are growing like plenty of water. It won't be long until time to lift these and you'll be able to know the shape of the Tropicanna for sure then. You didn't say when you planted the ones from Walmart, but if it was late May or early June, you should have had some flowering by now. Again, perhaps not enough water/light maybe?

I had very lousy luck with my canna bought from Walmart this year. They have a new provider it seems. My yellow were lack luster, though I did get some pretty Lady Di (dwarf/salmon peach color) that were quite lovely.

As for that banana - I don't do banana, but I'd be remembering that "hardy" is a relative term. I'd be shocked that it would make zone 5 - in case that's what you were thinking. Others here love banana and I know you'll get response.