Return to the Canna Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Transplanting seedlings

Posted by weirdtrev Z7 MD (My Page) on
Mon, Oct 30, 06 at 23:25

I started some seeds about 3 weeks ago for fun and now I have a bunch of 5 inch plants and one vigorous grower over a foot and it sprouted later than the others. My problem is that I planted them all in one container and they are spaced about an inch apart and I think this is far too close and I wanted to know how to best seperate them. Will I kill them if I disturb the roots? I have no experience with seedlings and I don't know what to do. Not to mention I have to keep all these growing for the next 3 months inside until the last danger of frost.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Transplanting seedlings

They should be fine if you separate them now. The roots may be tangled but just gently pull them apart and repot. You can put two or three into a gallon pot.

Once you have them repotted, give them a good watering to settle their roots in. Don't over water them over the Winter months. Most likely the tops will get to a point where they won't look so hot but don't worry about that. What is the important thing is that they will continue to put out new root growth and start to develope their rhizomes.

Once Spring arrives acclimate them to outside and put them into the warmest spot you can find. They'll sprout new growth and you can either plant them out into your gardens or repot them into larger containers.

Jenna

o

• Posted by njoynit Z8b Coastal ~seclude (My Page) on
    Thu, Nov 16, 06 at 14:46