Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
flower217

Right/Wrong Way to Store Tubers - Help!

flower217
13 years ago

I am new to cannas; I have read various ways of over-wintering tubers.

I have numerous tubers and am now wondering just exactly how many mistakes I have made.

The first few clumps I dug I cut off all foliage, washed soil away, rinsed in solution of 10% chlorox/water, cut off all roots as close to the tuber as I could, let dry and then dusted as best I could with garden sulphur then placed in individual baggies with peat moss (and I don't even know how damp this peat moss should be!). Some of these tubers are only an inch to a few inches long; varieties are Bengal Tiger/Pretoria, Wyoming and Intrige. This whole process was quite time consuming.

Now I'm reading directions to dig entire clumps, just shake off as much soil as possible and store the entire clump in a bag.

What the heck is the right way or wrong way?

I will be really mad at myself if all this loving care I've taken has actually caused the demise of my ENTIRE collection of cannas!

If anyone could provide input I would greatly appreciate it. I want more cannas and more varieties and I need to learn!

Please help.

Comments (10)

• tony_o
    13 years ago

I'd remove them from the baggies. That could cause them to mildew and rot.

• sylviatexas1
    13 years ago

Here, of course, we leave them in the ground for the next generation or three to deal with, but I think Tony's right;
    don't seal them inside anything.

• sylviatexas1
    13 years ago

...about leaving the clumps intact over the winter.

Here is a link that might be useful: when to divide cannas

• flower217
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Thanks everyone. I was beginning to think many of you had put this forum into hybernation until next season.

I think its safe to say that I'll probably lose some - especially the small ones.