Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
okieinbalto

potted cannas

okieinbalto
19 years ago

Can potted cannas be brought indoors and allowed to grow all winter and put back outdoors in the spring or do they need a rest?

Comments (7)

• cannafreak
    19 years ago

Yes they can be brought inside and placed in a south window. I would watch out for spidermites they can be a problem so mist the leaves daily. Check the faq section they cover overwintering cannas.

Tara

• noojiwooji
    19 years ago

I have a potted canna lily, and im having problems with it.
    I think its dying . Its starting to dry out. what should i do. Ive never stored bulbs. Im new with cala lilys. in the summer it doesnt really bloom and the leaf tips are always brown. should i move it to a bigger pot?

• cannafreak
    19 years ago

First I would need to know if you had a canna or a calla lily. If you have a canna are you trying to grow it indoors for the winter? What is the size of the pot that it is in now? Cannas spread quickly so you may have to divide and repot it. How often do you water it? Cannas should never be completely dry.

If you potted it up in the spring and it grew all summer the chances are you will have to divide and repot. I had 2 5 gallon pots going and by the end of the summer the rhizomes became huge. The leaves browning could be a result of underwatering but I would need to know more before I can answer for sure. HTH, Tara

• noojiwooji
    19 years ago

oops, i do have a canna lily. i had it out in the spring and brought it in in fall. it sat infront of the back door scince. i think the cold air got to it. i have it in a twelve inch pot. if i do need to gather the bulb will you explain how to do it, and do i need to cut the stalks down?

• cannafreak
    19 years ago