Return to the Canna Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
potted cannas

Posted by okieinbalto Z7MD (My Page) on
Tue, Nov 9, 04 at 15:45

Can potted cannas be brought indoors and allowed to grow all winter and put back outdoors in the spring or do they need a rest?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: potted cannas

Yes they can be brought inside and placed in a south window. I would watch out for spidermites they can be a problem so mist the leaves daily. Check the faq section they cover overwintering cannas.

Tara

o

I have a potted canna lily, and im having problems with it.
I think its dying . Its starting to dry out. what should i do. Ive never stored bulbs. Im new with cala lilys. in the summer it doesnt really bloom and the leaf tips are always brown. should i move it to a bigger pot?

o

First I would need to know if you had a canna or a calla lily. If you have a canna are you trying to grow it indoors for the winter? What is the size of the pot that it is in now? Cannas spread quickly so you may have to divide and repot it. How often do you water it? Cannas should never be completely dry.

If you potted it up in the spring and it grew all summer the chances are you will have to divide and repot. I had 2 5 gallon pots going and by the end of the summer the rhizomes became huge. The leaves browning could be a result of underwatering but I would need to know more before I can answer for sure. HTH, Tara

o

oops, i do have a canna lily. i had it out in the spring and brought it in in fall. it sat infront of the back door scince. i think the cold air got to it. i have it in a twelve inch pot. if i do need to gather the bulb will you explain how to do it, and do i need to cut the stalks down?

o

Check out the link I attached there is storage suggestions on it. Also you can check out the faq it has storage suggestions too. Finally you can do a search and there is a ton of information of different ways of storage.