Return to the Canna Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
What do I do with the roots all over the canna rhizomes?

Posted by Irish_rose_grower z7 LI NY (maureenpm00@hotmail.com) on
Wed, Nov 23, 05 at 16:30

HI. I'm new to cannas and am in the process of storing them over the winter in my attic.

I just am ready to pack bengal tiger and was wondering, what do I do with the bunch of roots coming out of the rhizomes? Do I leave them or cut them off?

----

Also, I've noticed that different varieties, like this one and red king humbert had completely different types of rhizomes. The red king humbert has what looks like tulips bulbs attached to the sides and bottom of each other. How do I know where to divide them? I just kept about 5 of them together when I broke the clump up. It is amazing how fast that variety multiplied.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: What do I do with the roots all over the canna rhizomes?

• Posted by Jroot 5A Ont. Canada (My Page) on
    Wed, Nov 23, 05 at 19:50

Cut the wee roots off ( no pun intended ). They will only shrivel in the winter anyway.

I tend to keep the rhizomes together until they start sprouting. Then I can readily see which ones are viable. At that point, I cut them, dust with a fungicide, let dry a wee while, and then plant in the spring.

o

What fungicide do you recommend?

o

Jroot - thank you for this info. But I'm still a bit confused, there are big roots and tiny roots. Do I cut off all the big roots?

Thank you and Happy Thanksgiving,
Maureen

o

• Posted by Jroot 5A Ont. Canada (My Page) on
    Fri, Nov 25, 05 at 17:27

Sorry about that. It is the Scot in me ( or as my wife says "the scotch in" me). LOL Wee means small.