Return to the Canna Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
My Canna bloomed... in NOVEMBER!!

Posted by WPalm033 Chicago Z6 (My Page) on
Wed, Nov 3, 04 at 22:07

This is my first year with cannas and I really know nothing about them. I planted a canna in mid july in part sun. All summer it grew little by little, and I never expected it to flower in a million years. Well I walked outside on a crisp 60 degree November day and to my surprise I see my canna with a large orange flower on top! If any of you are wondering, yes it is outside, and NO we have not yet had a killing frost. We are supposed to have a light frost in the next few days which may or may not kill back the canna. But I am ready for it. Here are the pics:

I am so surrised that some of you who care much more about their cannas havnt gottem them to bloom and mine was ignored almost all summer and bloomed hehe. My neighbor has some down the block and they are around 6ft tall. Keep in mind I planted this fiarly late, but have gotten a pup that is now growing inside to be put in its place for next year and hopefully they should reach a similar height.

Just thought I would share,

Pat

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: My Canna bloomed... in NOVEMBER!!

So, you are saying, ignore them, like bad children, and they will vy for our attention? ;-) (Just in fun.)

Beautiful pics. Nice cactus too.

cantstop

o

Careful! The cactus might get jealous and start blooming too. Neat combination.

~ Canna

o

Nice Pic thanks for sharing.

We are having an unusual warm fall here in Pa. I have cannas blooming all over the yard. I bring mine in usually by Sept. We have not had a frost yet.

o