kstrawson_gw

winter sowing started

kstrawson
17 years ago

okay so started my winter sowing on Jan 3. planted four types of hosta's,

Amaranthus-pygmy torch,

Love lies bleeding

and Kiss me over the garden gate.

Tried most of these indoors last year and they failed. Figured I would try outside and hope for the best. I used green pots and milk jugs. Still have more to go outside, just trying to find a day thats not windy.

Comments (6)

• ve_e

I'm working on it .. have hundreds of seeds to try (or so it seems) and a not quite 3 yr old who doesn't leave me much time to get it done! I'm going to definitely try some Indian/Asian balsam (or impatiens) and various malvas, malopes and lavateras. This is my first attempt at w/s and I hope it works out ... still have a couple of questions .. now that we have some snow, do I need to clear it or am I just setting the containers on top of it, and then do I ever need to worry about cleaning the snow off of them or do I just wait for it to melt??

thanks,
    Victoria

• ve_e

I'm working on it .. have hundreds of seeds to try (or so it seems) and a not quite 3 yr old who doesn't leave me much time to get it done! I'm going to definitely try some Indian/Asian balsam (or impatiens) and various malvas, malopes and lavateras. This is my first attempt at w/s and I hope it works out ... still have a couple of questions .. now that we have some snow, do I need to clear it or am I just setting the containers on top of it, and then do I ever need to worry about cleaning the snow off of them or do I just wait for it to melt??

thanks,
    Victoria

• ve_e

thanks,
    Victoria

• tiffy_z5_6_can
    17 years ago

kstrawson,
    My hostas did great last year, but the Amaranth and the KMOGG went bust. We had so much rain in June and cool weather that any tropical had a hard time. Not to worry, I had plenty of other things and I'm doing them again this year!

Have fun!!

• trishthegardenmom
    17 years ago