Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ladyk2008

Oh, my friends !! Look what I forgot I had :-)

ladyk2008
16 years ago

{{gwi:541021}}

{{gwi:541024}}

Hey, there ! We moved this past summer and I forgot I had these sitting in a box till this morning!! I haven't counted how many there are... but does anybody have any ideas on how I could use them for WS?? I have never done it before, and I am going to try my hand at it. I had some amazing 'GW Angels' help me out by sending seeds for starting from scratch on our yard, and as well, I have taken on a project that is going to entail a lot of work in regards to greenery at my son's K-12 school. The plants at the school have been neglected for years. They have tons of huge (some 3'x4', some 7'x3' etc.) concrete planters empty or having one or two sprigs of silk plants stuck in them and old dirt and half dead and almost half dead indoor plants (read houseplants!). So I have taken it upon myself to do something about it. And finding these containers was just perfect. I just have to come up with a way to use them. I was thinking maybe lining each one with landscape fabric, filling with soil to thumb depth, watering, seeding and then placing in a bag, twist tying it off and poking holes in the top.... Sound ok? Let me know what you think.

Thanks in advance for checking this out and responding!!

I love Garden Web, everybody here is pretty wonderful....

Kriste

Comments (4)

• wlongon5b
    16 years ago

Kriste,
    Last year I planted up 4 inch pots put them in trays and slid them into one of the those clear under the bed bags(Bought at Dollarama) with holes poked into the top. I had read where someone else had done it successfully.
    Well, I was skeptical it would work but it did.I had lot of plants growing. I lost a bunch when it forgot to uncover them on a warm sunny day and some of my babies fried:( I will be more diligent this year!!! You could do something similar with your lined containers.
    Wendy

• mariana2007