Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
xtreme_gardener

Help w/ Seed Selection for WSing

xtreme_gardener
17 years ago

Well, I received my William Damn seed order the other day. I was hoping to get some suggestions on which seeds are my best bet for success if WS'd and what I should stick to sowing indoors. This is my first year and I don't want to throw all my eggs into one basket and WS everything, but I also have limited indoor space.

Here's what I've got to start:

Flowers:

Stocks 'Harmony Mix'

Evening Scented Stocks 'Starlight Sensation' (new to me)

Sweet Peas 'Knee High'

Kochia 'Autumn Red' (new to me)

Euphorbia 'Kilimanjaro' (new, too)

Ammi 'Snowflake' (also new)

Clarkia 'Formula mix' (new)

Silene armeria 'Electra'

Sweet williams 'Forerunner Mix'

Millet 'Purple Majesty'(really looking forward to this one...never tried it before)

Dwarf Marigolds 'Disco Mix'

Rock Marigold 'Orange Gem'

Viola 'Amber Kiss' (soooo pretty!)

Veggies:

Red Romaine Lettuce

Summertime Lettuce

What about Beans ('Rocdor')?

Thanks so much in advance!

Comments (7)

• narcissus
    17 years ago

Hi, I am new this year. From what I have been reading is to sow some of your seeds indoors and a few outdoors. That way you'll be safe. Have you looked at www.wintersowing.org?

• Crazy_Gardener
    17 years ago

Toots, all of these can be WS'd...since they're annuals, no need to sow them till April or May.
    Stocks 'Harmony Mix'
    Evening Scented Stocks 'Starlight Sensation'
    Sweet Peas 'Knee High'
    Kochia 'Autumn Red'
    Euphorbia 'Kilimanjaro'
    Ammi 'Snowflake'
    Clarkia 'Formula mix'
    Silene armeria 'Electra'
    Sweet williams 'Forerunner Mix'
    Dwarf Marigolds 'Disco Mix'
    Rock Marigold 'Orange Gem'
    Viola 'Amber Kiss'
    Red Romaine Lettuce
    Summertime Lettuce

Millet 'Purple Majesty' - I would start these inside 8-10 weeks before planting out in 4" square containers. Check the FN forum, I believe there is a thread all about these guys.