Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
judyswont

Bad luck so far!!

judyswont
17 years ago

This is my first time trying winter sowing so only did 7 bottles (4 2 litre pop bottles and 3 large water bottles). I planted them at the end of Feb. and put them on the deck in a pile of snow. All was fine until the snow melted, I then set them carefully along the patio doors so they would be out of the wind. Two days later we got a lot of wind and when I went out to check - the 4 pop bottles had all blown off - one into the window well and the others laying on their sides and open. I brought the open ones into the house and replanted them as I wasn't sure if the seeds were now on the bottom and maybe gone. I then put them back outside but this time I set them into a blue box with a large brick in for weight and put them on the deck. I thought for sure they would be fine!! Not so - the very next night we had a storm with massive wind which blew the blue box off the deck and the bottles were scattered and open - one had the top half missing completely!!

Needless to say - this is very discouraging for a first timer!! I think it's too windy here for winter sowing.

Judy

Comments (6)

• tiffy_z5_6_can
    17 years ago

Oh Judy. Now that's no good for sure!!

Let's see if we can help. I have a tendency to believe that maybe there wasn't enough soil in the containers. There should be at least 3 inches pressed down and the soil should be really moist. I leave mine in the sink to soak, then take out and while the soil is draining, I sow the seeds. At three inches, and being moist, the weight of the containers should be fine.