Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tabbycat55

Cut flowers for winter sowing?

tabbycat55
17 years ago

Hi everyone. I'm new to Gardenweb forums and winter sowing...this will be my first attempt this winter and I'm really looking forward to it. Imagine! Looking forward to winter...

One thing I've learned already, it's a good idea to read the posts before posting anything mysef. Two questions of mine have already been touched on....soil and containers. Thanks can_grow for the Costco salad container suggestion! And I'll be looking for the seed and soil to go on sale soon.....thanks for that tip too.

I love to grow flowers for cutting and I'd like to have some recommendations for seed.....easy and reliable would be nice for a beginner like me. I usually start my Cosmos indoors under light....I would like to w/s Chocolate Cosmos? Thanks!

Comments (9)

• Crazy_Gardener
    17 years ago

Hi Tabbycat, welcome to WS'ing and to the GW forums!

There are sooooooow many choices available but some easy to WS ones that come to mind right now are, Sweet Peas, Sunflowers, Zinnias, Calendula, Asters, Delphiniums, Goldenrod, Lupins, Foxgloves, Yarrow, Statice, Shasta Daisy and Baby's Breath.

I'm sure others will chime in too ;)

Best of luck on your upcoming first year Winter Sowing!

Sharon
    (who is not quite anxious for winter just yet ;)

• cangrow
    17 years ago

I'll second Sharon's suggestions. And rather than wishing winter earlier, you could sow the Shasta Daisies now for fall planting and earlier blooms next season.

I WSd Cosmos and they're doing well.

My favourite WS cut flower is carnations (Dianthus, Chaubaud mix). I'd never grown them before and didn't realize they're a perennial.

This was my first winter, and I didn't find out about WSing until it was too late for soil sales and collecting containers (I had to beg friends not to recycle.)