Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lorraine_2006

First time I'm going to winter sow

lorraine_2006
17 years ago

Hi I was hoping that some experienced winter sowers could help me. I would like to know how to winter sow, containers and the best plants to sow? Thank you for any info. Cheers! Lorraine

Comments (6)

• tiffy_z5_6_can
    17 years ago

I'll start off by posting a link to the FAQs (Frequently Asked Questions) from the main forum. Take a read and do join us for more enjoyment! Welcome!

Here is a link that might be useful: FAQs on Winter Sowing.

• musicalmommy
    17 years ago

I'm a total newbie. Just 2 years of gardening experience and I've never grown anything from seed before. What is the difference between winter sowing and the usual method? Is the usual method to start the seeds indoors early spring? Does winter sowing means starting the seeds in flats in the middle of winter and keeping them outside the entire time? I have Poppy seeds from my sister in law. I was planning to sprinkle them into the soil a few weeks before winter frost. That's not winter sowing I know. It's called direct sowing? I'm afraid if I sprinkle them now, the seedlings will germinate and be killed by winter frost. Am I right about that?

• krystine
    17 years ago

Yes, wintersowing means starting the seeds outside in containers and keeping them outside the entire winter. Direct sowing is just as you described. I, personally, would hold off on direct sowing the poppies now and wintersow them.

If I had one piece of advice for newbies, it would be to limit the amount of containers/seeds you wintersow the first year. I did waaaay too many seeds and containers my first time and when it came time for planting out, it became more of a chore than a fun thing to do.

Here is a link that might be useful: Krystine's Garden Blog

• tiffy_z5_6_can
    17 years ago

Musicalmommy,