Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
laxeash_gw

When do you winter sow?

laxeash
17 years ago

Hello

I'm a newbie to gardening and would like to try my hand at wintersowing. I've been reading the FAQ and gathering info.

I'm just confused as to when i can start the process?

I hate being outdoors or even in the garage in winter doing prep work for wintersowing. So I'm curious when do you wintersow? Can I sow seeds say Oct end or Nov early or do I have to wait for the dead winter (Jan)?

Thanks in advance.

Comments (14)

• marciaz3 Tropical 3 Northwestern Ontario
    17 years ago

Depends on the type of seeds you're sowing. Some need a longer period of stratification, so you do them early, like late December or early January. After that, it depends on what zone you're in. Here in zone 3, i start in earnest in March, while others in higher zones go all winter. And i do mine right in the kitchen - no need to freeze your buns off in the garage! (Besides, i tried that - freezing 'em off - and it doesn't work!)

• tiffy_z5_6_can
    17 years ago

I do mine in the kitchen too and then race out to the deck, plop the container down, and race back inside. Usually dressed in my comfy pyjamas since most of my wsing is done mostly in the evenings or in the mornings. My boots are ready by the door, ready to slide in and out of my feet as I go in and out - sometimes I introduce my slippers to snow...

Containers are prepped and filled with soil in the basement, but have to be soaked in the kitchen sink since I don't have a sink in the basement.

Here in Zone 5/6, I start in late February. Even seeds which need stratification will be started then since they will have plenty of freeze/thaw action if started at that time.

• garden_chicken
    17 years ago

"Besides, i tried that - freezing 'em off - and it doesn't work!"
    Haaahaaahaaa Marcia!

• madawaska
    17 years ago