Return to the Canadian Winter Sowing Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
What are you doing in Ontario?

Posted by northerner_on Z5A ONCanada (My Page) on
Mon, Oct 29, 07 at 1:48

Hello there,
I haven't been on in a while because of personal family problems, but everyone is well again and it seems no one is doing anything. I got out today because tonight we expect our first hard frost. It's exceptional that today I still have Canna's, Lychnis Coronaria, Salvia (midnight and Texas Red), Helenium and Toad Lilly still in bloom. My hollyhock has also rewarded me with a second bloom. Today I tried something new (for me )- chipped some leaves with the mower to use the top layer of mulch for my new bed. Looking forward to planting it up in Spring. So what are you all up to?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: What are you doing in Ontario?

Well as you can see by the post below, I am brand new to WS and SO looking forward to trying it for the first time this year. I am busy gathering lots of supplies and collecting and trading seeds. In the garden, I am trying to get all the last minute clean up done. Gathering up all the plants that need to come in and be stored/overwintered, and making room for all of them.

o

Mostly, i've been cleaning up around the yard so that everything is put away before the snow falls. We had a bit of wind (understatement!) the other day, so there are things that blew around that need to be picked up now. I've been collecting boxes to put around my roses and raking leaves to fill the boxes. Some of the roses still have leaves. My geraniums have been inside for a week now and were in the mini-greenhouse for a few weeks before that. I've been trying to get more seeds collected too. One thing i haven't gotten around to doing is pulling dead annuals - tomorrow's job, maybe. :)

o