Return to the Canadian Winter Sowing Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
silverleaf/red osier dogwood

Posted by Hiccups4 4 (My Page) on
Thu, Nov 15, 12 at 9:38

Hi there, I would like to plant red osier or silverleaf dogwood seeds. When is the best time to do this and where would I buy these seeds? Other helpful info? The planting site is on a naturalized ravine slope where I want to screen a dog run..it's an awkward spot and I would need a lot hence the seed idea. I am a newbie. Toronto, ON Thanks!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: silverleaf/red osier dogwood

• Posted by wmc1 s/w Ontario Sarnia (My Page) on
    Sat, Nov 17, 12 at 12:14

Try Ebay they have all kinds for sale.

o

• Posted by wmc1 s/w Ontario Sarnia (My Page) on
    Sat, Nov 17, 12 at 12:23

This is off ebay, 25 seeds for about $4.
Red Osier Dogwood (Cornus stolonifera) 25+ Seeds

Zones 2 - 7. Native throughout northern and western North America from Alaska east to Newfoundland and south to Durango. This medium to tall deciduous shrub spreads readity by underground stolens to form dense thickets. Dark red stems make a striking contrast against winter's snow.

The Latin species name, meaning 'bearing stolons", refers to the rooting of branch tips touching the ground and forming new shoots. Since the wood is quite durable, Native Americans used the Red Osier Dogwood as digging sticks, pipe stems, arrows and pegs.