Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
poppy88

w/s zip lock plastic bag ?

poppy88
15 years ago

Good Morning everyone,

I hope you are well, it is very cold today and all I could think of is w/s.

I am a beginner to wintersown, I've tried last last year and in spring had about half of my seeds spout. One of the reason was because I didn't have enough containers so I was using things like berries containers, coffee cups. Anyway, I find myself again short of containers this year and I google on the net and found someone w/s with zip lock plastic bag. I am anxious to use these bags as containers.

I am wondering if you had success in w/s with zip lock plastic bag, if yes what size ? I was thinking of using the sandwich size bag. Can you share your sucess story ? do you zip all the way ? half ?

As for containers, I was also looking for any suggestions on what you used and had sucess.

Thankyou,

Poppy88

Thanks

Comments (6)

• clc70
    15 years ago

Do you know someone who works for a nursing home, or in the kitchen of a school? If so, maybe they can save 1 gal. milk jugs for you. My nursing home uses 5-6 gal. of milk a day. Thats 35-42 jugs a week I'm bringing home.

• poppy88
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Thank you clc70,

I was considering using zip lock bags because I live in CANADA, our milk doesn't comes in the galon container like yours do. In addition to that, I also don't drink any soda or soft drink.

I posted the same message in the wintersown forum, and I got a lot of good responds. I thank you for your time.

I asked family members, friends to save me any salad containers so I am hoping they will come in ....

happy gardening.

Poppy

• northerner_on
    15 years ago

Have you looked at Wintersown.org? I think Trudi has directions, complete with drawings on how to use zip-loc bags, or baggies as they call them in the U.S. Try this link:
    http://wintersown.org/wseo1/Winter_Sowing_in_a_Baggie.html
    Good luck!!
    Northerner.

• ninamarie