Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
janet_grower

winter sowing in standard trays?

janet_grower
17 years ago

I am new to winter sowing and am about to start (I hope this is the right time). I was thinking of using the standard trays that come with a dome. I usually start my seedlings in an azalea pan and then transplant to either styrofoam cups or 4" square pots. Now if I am correct, (please let me know if I am doing something wrong) I am going to directly sow a couple of seeds per 4" pot into moistened seed starting mix, and then fit them into the tray (18 per), and set the tray outside. Now do I need to cover the tray with the dome or anything? I'd think the dome might blow away in the wind. Any tips will be helpful. Thank you, Janet

Comments (7)

• wendy2shoes
    17 years ago

I think you'll have a problem with the starter pots drying out, even with the dome. Definitely won't work with peat pots. Please read the FAQ's about minimum soil depth, as well as techniques for drainage and covering.

I'll think you'll find that most wintersowers have the best success with 2 litre bottles, milk jugs, or anything that can carry a "hefty" amount of soil to stand up to our blowy winters.

I'm waiting for more of a freeze up before I start sowing this year.

• Crazy_Gardener
    17 years ago

I resuse them every year.

Just make sure you have good drainage and yes you will need to use the plastic domes with air holes/vents on top. I duct tape the ends and throw light snow on top and then when it starts warming up, you can use clothes pins on the ends for easier opening and closing.

Search for a thread called containers, there is a photo posted of my flats/domes that I use.

Sharon

• bev_w
    17 years ago

Hi Janet,