Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ccccccory

Advice Needed for Carnivorous Plant Project

ccccccory
15 years ago

Hello All! I am a student at Webster University and I am doing a project on carnivorous plants for my Biology of Plants class. I was wondering if you could help me out on figuring out which plants grow the fastest, eat the most, etc. I plan on growing venus fly traps, cephalotus, and one or two others under a grow light in my basement. Any suggestions for other plants/instructional books/websites/etc.? I'm basically a beginner at this whole thing, so I would appriceate any help you could give me.

Thanks,

Cory

Comments (5)

• mcantrell
    15 years ago

There is a great, book sized, FAQ here:
    http://www.sarracenia.com/faq.html

There's also a book which I would almost call required reading for anyone starting to work with Carnivorous Plants here:
    http://www.californiacarnivores.com/thesavagegardenbypeterdamato.aspx

As for the fastest growing, not sure. Some cultivars of VFTs grow pretty fast -- "Vigorous", for example, is named just for that reason. I hear Cephalotus is a really difficult plant to grow; I haven't tried it because of that.

You didn't mention any Sundews -- I would think you would probably want a Cape Sundew, they are a staple of any Carnivorous Plant collection (mainly cause they grow so WELL -- they're almost a weed).. Drosera Adelae is also really prolific (in theory, I've killed 2 without any luck). You could also look at the Pygmy sundews for an interesting contrast -- they are extremely small but also somewhat prolific as each plant can make hundreds of clones each year.

I hear some of the Bladderworts are pretty fast growers as well, but I'm not sure, as I do not currently grow any of these.

I am not sure as to the scope of your project. Is it just an observational thing?

• ccccccory
    Original Author
    15 years ago