Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
aashishkabob

New Venus Fly Trap - Question on care

aashishkabob
17 years ago

Hello everyone!

I bought a VFT today at the local Wal-Mart with a buddy of mine. I am a college student at UF in Gainesville, FL.

Anyways, I have a couple of questions:

1. Should I be worried about my VFT? It has maybe 4 or 5 traps, all of which are bright green. The traps aren't very sticky, and they aren't the deep red/maroon color I've seen elsewhere. Also, at purchase it had 3-3.5 inch flower stalk, which I have since snipped. (If only I had known that flower stalks are bad news!) I worry that the stalk indicates that the plant hasn't gone into dormancy. What, if anything, should I do?

2. As I mentioned earlier, I'm a college student. That means that I don't have a safe place to keep my plant outdoors. Similarly, it's been a pretty warm winter here, and I worry that the plant won't go into dormancy (or it's not in dormancy). Any ideas on what i can do to ensure dormancy? I've read that putting it in a ziplock bag and into my refridgerator may do the trick.

Comments (5)

• aashishkabob
    Original Author
    17 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Also, can I give it filtered water (like a Brita jug?)

PS Like an idiot I cut its plastic bubble open so that's no longer usable.

• xymox
    17 years ago

Hey aashishkabob,

Congrats on the new purchase of your new VFT.

I read that your plant's traps aren't deep red like the ones' you've seen in books or pictures on-line.

Venus' flytraps will only make reddish traps if they are grown under good lighting. Meaning, they will only make healthy, big red traps if you grow them in a sunny location.

Good thing you clipped off that flower stalk, Unless you are truly experienced growing these magnificent plants, stay away from allowing it to flower. Venus' flytraps don't die after flowering. as long as they get good lighting, they will grow Healthy.