Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
greentherapy

I need info on cold hardy carnivors!

greentherapy
17 years ago

Hey ya'll

I'm kinda new to raising cp's. Been raising a few under lights with orchids and I decided this spring I wanted to surround my back porch with them.

The question I have is which cp's would be cold hardy in my region. I live in Idaho, boise to be specific. Depending on the website I live in zone 5-7. I can say the temp does drop from time to time but winters in the past ten years have been fairly mild, I even have had a few banana trees come back after winter.

I am interested in having a couple types of pitcher plants, sundews, pings and fly traps, names of any kinds of em that would survive here with cover or not would be great.

Thanks!

Comments (8)

• fredsbog
    17 years ago

You should be in good shape.

I have a number of Sarracenia Pitcher plants outdoors all year in a bog garden. They are all root hardy here, though the ones that produce the best pitchers in spring are best in colder areas.

I also have had Fly traps outside since 1998 and they survive just fine as do Droseras rotundifolia, intermedia and filiformis.

Good luck!

• greentherapy
    Original Author
    17 years ago

Thank you very much. I had thought all those would survive fine here but just wanted to make sure someone else close to my zone region had had success.

So here is the next issue. I will be buying them very very beginning of spring but I would like to buy plants that will atleast give me a bit of a show in the first summer (refering to the sarracenia). Does anyone recomment a site that is affordable but also sells plants of a mature enough age that I can buy them and still get sizable pitchers the first year?

• greentherapy
    Original Author
    17 years ago

Alright I found several great websites for the plants, california carnivores and cooks stood out.