Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nepenthesinky

Pitchers

NepenthesinKY
13 years ago

I live in Central Ky. I am new to the plants, I have it in a hanging pot and water it about twicw a week with tap water, that has been setting for a few days...I bought it at a festival about four mths ago and it had lots of pitchers on it but they are all dying even the new ones that grow but the plant itself is grow great. Is this normal for the pitchers to die??

Comments (18)

• tommyr_gw Zone 6
    13 years ago

This time of year it's normal.

Also, STOP using tap water, letting it sit does not help dissipate all the toxins. Get distilled water and start collecting rainwater.

• NepenthesinKY
    Original Author
    13 years ago

I was hoping it was just normal, it just concerned me cause all of them are dying but....thanks for the tip.

• NepenthesinKY
    Original Author
    12 years ago

I still don't have any new pictures...there are a few of the old ones left but they have been slowly dying since I got it.(none of them have lids left) Now that it has gotten warmer I moved outside and it has been out there for about a mth.(still no new pictures) The plant is still growing good other than a few yellowish leaves. Also I got my parents one at the same time..they have new pictures but some of their stems are turning brown at the soil they almost look as they are dying. We use distilled water only, both are outside. Any help would be great..

• tommyr_gw Zone 6
    12 years ago

Are they in full Sun? Meaning at least 8 hours a day or more? Are they sitting in a tray of ran or distilled water about 1 inch deep? You can cut off any dead pitchers also.

• hunterkiller03
    12 years ago

Maybe the problem is the what type of pithcer plants you have. Do you have North American pitcher plants, the Sarracenia, or tropical pitcher plants Nepenthes?

Google Nepenthes and Sarracenia to see what plant you are growing.

• NepenthesinKY
    Original Author
    12 years ago