Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sehtnepen

Any San Diego CP growers out there?

sehtnepen
16 years ago

I don't know if this is the spot to put this, but I figured it should be alright. Anywho, I'm a member at a few other CP forums and I could only find 3 other people that grow CPs in San Diego. I'm sure there are more of us out there, so I figured I would reach out on this forum. This was the first forum I saw with carnivorous plants when I started out, so I figured other newbies might start here too.

Heres a some pics of a few of my plants...

N. 'Lady Pauline' (Talangensis x Maxima)

{{gwi:546405}}

Closeup:

{{gwi:546406}}

N. 'Sabre' (Ventricosa x Trusmadiensis)

{{gwi:546407}}

N. 'Marbled Dragon' (Maxima x Truncata)

{{gwi:546408}}

Comments (4)

• mullenium
    16 years ago

Yes Im in San Diego, and Im a total noob, Im trying to grow a couple mango as houseplants but really interested growing some pitcher plants, how do you grow them, can they be grown as viable indor plants without any sort of habitat setup, or maybe by hanging outside on the porch?

my mango's are not going so well due to fruit fly's and the cold weather, I may need to switch to another type of plant as my hobby :)

brandon

• sehtnepen
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Hehe, well pitcher plants will take care of those fruit flies for you no problem :). I grow mine under grow lights using terrariums, but many people grow them outside with success. I know of a few people that grow them in So. Cali with great success, although some of the more finicky species prefer a greenhouse or terrarium for higher humidity. As for indoor growing, this could work depending on the humidity in your house and the temperatures. Some species like cooler temps (highland) and some like warmer temps (lowland). Light is also an important factor, so for an indoor plant, a south facing window would be prime. Humidity should also remain above 50%, though this is not always necessary with every species.