Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sakmeht

baby n. ventricosa pitcher

sakmeht
17 years ago

Hi all,

I'm a newbie and was wondering if anyone has a good pic of a close-up of a VERY small baby pitcher that I can see... My ventricosa's new pitcher is growing off a nice pink tendril and the pitcher looks fuzzy and light brown. Does this sound normal? It's the brown color that I'm wondering about. Thanks! Sarita

Comments (10)

• petiolaris
    17 years ago

Well... this is a young N. sanguinea I got from Lowes, which should be similar enough to what you are seeking:

{{gwi:546278}}

• sakmeht
    Original Author
    17 years ago

Actually, the far right tiny pitcher is more like what I'm looking for... mines about a 1/4" bigger than that. It looks similar, except mine is just light brown. The tendril off the end of the leaf is pink, as are all the others. I guess I'm just wondering if they will turn black or fall off if they're not going to turn into pitchers. I guess I should just have patience and wait and see! Thanks for the pic!

• jonocross
    17 years ago

ok, this is just my thought on the subject. Ventricosa are pretty fast growing for a Nep. The small pitchers may not make it, I've had that problem with several of my neps but those pitchers wouldn't hold much anyway. New leaves come fairly quickly and pretty soon, pitchers will come. Once you get a couple pitchers, it'll have pitchers comming faster than they die off usually.

• petiolaris
    17 years ago

All leaves should produce pitchers, unless that plant is having problems... or.... if you keep them at a window sill all year long and from November - February the photoperiod is too low... like mine!

• hunterkiller03
    17 years ago