Return to the Carnivorous Plants Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
beginner

Posted by sjbaby scottsbluff, NE (My Page) on
Tue, Feb 25, 14 at 19:48

my husband has finally taken an interest in plants and is looking at all of these pics and has lots of questions, is there a good online site for buying as there is no where local selling, or some where to see pics of the different types, they would be in door plants but have to be able to take some cold. any and all suggestions are welcome.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: beginner

I'm no expert, but if starting out I suggest you go with something on the easy side ( maintenance wise ). Some plants require a lot of attention, while others can be thrown outside.

Research, research, research.

Research the plant you are going to grow. I've killed off plenty of plants cause of little research.

There's plenty of sites online to buy. You have to search around to find deals. You can also join sites like this and find people to trade with.

For pics, meh just use google.

I throw my plants inside under lights when it gets too cold out. Or leave them outside if they can survive.

o

Google is your friend! TONS of info out there.

As far as sellers there is Sarracenia Northwest, California carnivores, just to name a few.

One place for great info is: http://www.sarracenia.com/faq.html

o

For information there are two books that i highly recommend: Carnivorous Plants of the world and The Savage Garden

For plants:
www.flytraps.com (Cook's Carnivores)
Pros: Very affordable prices, wide selection of species.
Cons: Slightly lower quality, but well worth the lower price! You can find their sales on ebay, as well. Seeds are occasionally sold here, as well.

www.californiacarnivores.com
Pros: Mature, well-established plants that arrive in great shape after shipment.
Cons: Quite expensive, but if you have enough money, go for it! :)

www.carnivorousplantnursery.com
Pros: Among the best selection of rare plants!