Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
anthony_m

sarracenia, d. capensis, and VFT in one pot?

Anthony.M
13 years ago

i live in berkeley ca which is zone three and im new to CPs and gardening in general, can i put a pitcher a sundew and a VFT in one pot so i could have a garden of death. :) any help will be appreciated.

Comments (9)

• taz6122
    13 years ago

I thought Berkeley was zone 9??

• Anthony.M
    Original Author
    13 years ago

well im a n00b :) i guess its hardiness zone 9 but climate zone 3 and in my web searching i didnt know the difference, anyway i live in apt on the 4th floor so i have an east facing window and i sunlight desk lamp that i blast them with all day. i just got the VFT but my sundews have been thriving. i dont have the pitchers yet but my friend does and i gave him a sundew to trade. can i put them in one pot? im worried about the dormancy of the VFT messing with the other plants...

• Anthony.M
    Original Author
    13 years ago

also, i cant find any bugs right now because of the rain and its been a week or so since they ate so i got some small earthworms and cut them up and put them onthe leaves of the sundew and triggered the vfts, are earthworms good food? the sundews wont curl up and live worms are to strong and wriggle up. should i take them off? any help with both questions would be greatly appreciated... thank you.

• taz6122
    13 years ago

I wouldn't worry too much about feeding them. I personally wouldn't put them in the same pot but you can if you keep them far enough away from each other so that you can bare root the VFT for dormancy without disturbing the roots of the Drosera. What kind of pitcher plant are you getting? Some of them also require dormancy.

I used to be a chimney sweep in the Berkeley hills. What fun that was when the chimney was on the back side which was sometimes 3 stories high (only one story in front) and the roofs were covered in moss.

• taz6122
    13 years ago