Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
damonedwards

Growing Cobra Lilies (Darlingtonia californica) in WA

damonedwards
14 years ago

I am new to much of any kind of gardening, but I would love to try planting some cobra lilies out back behind my house. We have a pretty marshy area in the back behind a small trout stream and from what research I have done, it appears that this area is somewhat conducive to the plants native environment. Does anyone here have any experience with this plant in an area such as mine? Thanks!

Damon

Comments (7)

• petiolaris
    14 years ago

You're basically where they come from - maritime Pac NW. They should do well for you.

• terrestrial_man
    14 years ago

What do you mean by a marshy area?
    What is the soil like? How much sun exposure?
    Does water move through the area or just sits there?
    What is growing there now?
    Darlingtonias do not occur in WA and are restricted to just
    the border region of the Coast Ranges of California and Oregon.
    What you really need to do first is to change that marshy area into a bog that will support Sphagnum moss. If the Sphagnum moss cannot grow there then forget about growing Darlingtonia there until you can resolve whatever cultural issues are needed to be dealt with concerning the Sphagnum moss.

• tommyr_gw Zone 6
    14 years ago

By the way folks, there are new laws in California regarding Darlingtonia. Can't be sold without a permit AND the way the law is written they MAY be illegal to own as well. This is per the folks at cobraplant.com Stay tuned......

• terrestrial_man
    14 years ago

Really don't have a clue on what tommyr is talking about.
    What laws I know about pertain to wild collected plants which require permission from private landowners or a permit from the state on state owned property. The genus is not listed on the state endangered plant list.