Return to the Carnivorous Plants Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Recently purchased Nepenthes Miranda. Need advice.

Posted by Dragonflyguy North Texas (My Page) on
Sun, Mar 11, 12 at 14:18

I'm new to Nepenthes but not to cultivating carnivorous plants and so this is my first purchase. Unfortunately, the care card that came with it is useless and "The Savage Garden" has little insight on this plant.

I want to keep it outdoors, preferably in a location that only gets morning sun.
Would this plant do well outdoors in North Texas? As a comparison, I am able to grow venus flytraps and cape sundews outdoors without any problem. Or should I keep it indoors? I do have a sunny windowsill where a Cephalotus has been thriving.

What is the temperature range of tolerance for this plant and does it need a lot of humidity? Is it a lowland or highland variety?

Several pitchers are shriveled up a brown, should I remove them? And should I be worried that so many

When should the plant be repotted and what soil mix is preferred? Is foliar fertilization necessary?

Sorry if that's so many questions but I always want to be sure about raising a new plant.

I've included a few pics for reference.

[IMG]http://i44.tinypic.com/s4t9bo.jpg[/IMG]
[IMG]http://i44.tinypic.com/ea16dy.jpg[/IMG]

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Recently purchased Nepenthes Miranda. Need advice.

Sorry, here are the imagesL

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

o

Bright, filtered Sun. Keep moist at all times (Not in a water tray!) and clip off any pitchers that are dieing or you can't stand. They can not tolerate frost.

o

Nepenthes for the most part are easy to grow BUT in order for them to produce pitchers require humidity levels of at least 50% preferably 60%. Bright light and morning sun also needed. Here in the NE I give mine direct sun most of the day except high summer along with high humidity and lack of humidity will cause pitcher loss.

Scott

o