Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
barbara_in_la

Sarracenia growing a flower stalk... good or bad?

barbara_in_la
16 years ago

I'm new to growing it and discovered a flower stalk today. I tried to find some information online but couldn't find what I was looking for. Can you tell me what it means? Thanks in advance.

Comments (14)

• carnivorousplants
    16 years ago

Hi Barbara,
    If it's flowering it means it's happy so it is a good thing.
    I'm not sure if flowering deprives energy from sarracenia, but it definatley does
    from flytraps.You can let it flower, as alot of sarrs have beautiful flowers but
    they might make it grow a little slower.If you want to save it's energy, clip it off at
    the base of the stalk
    Good Luck,
    Adrian

• hunterkiller03
    16 years ago

It's normal for Sarracenias to grow flowers. It is what "carnivorousplants" said, your Sarracenia is happy and have enough energy to invest on a flower. If it wasn't happy, it would not produce a flower or abort it totally if it did. The thing about not letting your plants grow a flower stalks seem to be limited only to the VFT.

One thing, they do make beautiful flowers with wonderful fragrant. I would suggest you keep it, but if you feel you would rather err on the side of caution. Go ahead but it will be to bad. You will miss something.

• barbara_in_la
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Thank you both for your responses!! I'll let it grow for now, and if it looks like the plant takes a turn for the worse, I'll cut it off. Thank you again!! Barb

• tommyr_gw Zone 6
    16 years ago

Let it grow! I have 6 in bloom or about to bloom right now. One in full bloom. Congrats!

• mutant_hybrid
    16 years ago