Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
olympus8mp

Outside vs. terrarium

olympus8mp
17 years ago

Hi,

I have a few CPs that are in a terrarium now because I am a college student in Northern Ohio. It is far too cold in winter to keep them outside. In my terrarium right now I have:

1- VFT - Dionaea Muscipula

1- Cobra Lily - Darlingtonia California

2- Sundews - Drosera Adelae (these things grow like weeds!!)

Should these be moved outside when summer is finally here? I also plan on buying a bunch of VFT's for the summer to grow outside. My main question is: should the sundews and cobra lilies be outside? I've noticed that my sundews lose their dew for a day or so if I leave them in low humidity. I think our humidity here is high enough in the summer (70-80 %) during the summer. Is this correct?

Any tips regarding any of these species is greatly appreciated, along with any information on how to best grow them outside.

Thanks very much,

Sean Welton

Comments (13)

• mutant_hybrid
    17 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Hello olympus8mp,

The Drosera adelae are tropical shorter lived perrenials that can be grown indoors all year, or outdoors during the regular growing season in partial sun. They should be brought in during winter if you prefer outside as they will grow year round and might die in cold weather if it gets to low. They burn in full sun so keep them in shaded indirect or partial sun and can be hardened off in pots by slowly adapting them to lower humidity or kept in the terrarium, though it's actually easier to care for them in pots. Their dew replenishes with light, not humidity. It is just the quick change in humidity that messes them up for a couple of weeks. As you noticed, they propagate from root runs but probably will not produce seed as they are clones that require genetic variation to cross pollinate.