Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
plant_newbie_2010

Sundew seedling(from seed) help please!

plant_newbie_2010
12 years ago

Hi, this is my first time starting any carnivorous plant from seed, plus I'm basically a newbie at carnivorous plants, as I've only had one capensis alba for a few weeks, before it succumbed to a really bad aphid problem...=(

So basically about a month ago, I started a tropical and subtropical mix of drosera seeds in small styrofoam cups, in 1:1 peat and perlite, and in sealed ziploc bags with ~1" of water. It had been real chilly, so I thought maybe I screwed up and killed all the seeds by starting them on my windowsill while it was still snowing outside(cause I myself had moments I felt I was freezing in my room). Plus nothing popped up in 2 weeks, and knew I had some capensis, which I had heard popped up relatively fast. But being lazy, and ever so hopeful, I just left my set-up there while I tended to my other seedlings. Now, almost a month later, I decided to check as it's gotten pretty warm lately, and voila, in my 4 cups, there are altogether 15 seedlings that have popped up!=D(only with their cotyledons out, and a couple even still have the seed coat on the tip of a leaf) Of course I`m grinning like an idiot, cause I`m happy as can be!=) But I do have a few issues...=/

1) Right now, they are completely sealed in the ziploc bag, and I've heard about hardening them off to lower humidity when they're old enough, but how many true/carnivorous leaves is considered old enough? And over how long a period of time should they be slowly hardened off? (1 week? 2 weeks? etc...)