Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lecorbeau

nepenthes questions

K
11 years ago

Hello,

I have a nepenthes which I couldn't resist buying last fall. Normally I am not good at keeping house plants -- most of my gardening is outdoors -- but I put it with another tropical over my kitchen sink. There I see it every day and remember to mist it several times a week and water it only once a week. It has a lot of new leaves with the beginnings of pitchers, but I lost one due to neglect when things got very busy for me. It got to be about an inch, but now the top is brown and dry like the large ones that have finished. However, there are lots more coming, and today I found a 1-1/2 inch one under all the leaves in the soil of the plant.

So, if I can just keep up with the watering, I think it's pretty happy so far. The first question I have is: when should I repot it? The other tropical I have there likes to be crowded in the pot. The nepenthes is getting very tall for the little pot it came in. Also, shouldn't I feed it something? There aren't very many bugs in my house, so I don't expect it's getting much nutrition on its own.

Third question: Can I move the nepenthes to the porch for the summer? I'm in NC zone 7b. We have been having a fairly humid spring, but often have droughty summers (though the humidity can be heavy).

Finally, can anyone suggest a website where I can look at the different kinds of nepenthes to figure out what mine is? It has bright green leaves with reddish pitcher "stalks" and the pitchers are green with streaks of burgundy, darker at the top. The length of the grown pitchers is about five inches. Maybe someone can tell from the description.

Thanks!

Kat

Comments (6)

• tommyr_gw Zone 6
    11 years ago

If you can post a pic showing the pot as well it would be of a little help.