Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mukaketupat

my baby venus fly traps are turning black!

mukaketupat
17 years ago

hi, i'm new at this. just purchase a new vft from a mall last week. but the traps/eyelids are turning black one by one. been feeding it distilled water and giving it sun now and then. it sits on my balcony with the rest of my plants.

what should i do?

please help.

for photos - http://pokok.gejala.org/2007/pokokpenyu/peace-lily/frustrations-of-the-savage-garden/

Here is a link that might be useful: pictures here

Comments (5)

• mutant_hybrid
    17 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Hi mukaketupat,

Venus Flytraps sometimes loose traps when they get old. Is the plant still growing new traps? If it is still growing, it is probably fine.

Here is a picture of what a VFT at this time of year looks like if it is grown with the seasons like a temperate. You can see how one trap is dying, but more are growing.

{{gwi:552017}}

Some things to consider about Flytraps is that they are temperate North American plants that like a lot of sun and require dormancy during winter. In Malaysia, they will do well for the summer if they are given a lot of light. If it has been in the shade, move it to a place where it can get more light. Since the plant has been in the shade a lot, you might slowly acclimate it to high light so it's leaves won't burn. Just place it in a sunny west or east window or slightly shaded patio for one week, then an even brighter, like a south facing window, or less shady place the second week, then you can put it in full sun after that.

This is a picture of a trap that gets 4 40 watt florescent light tubes about 2 inches away from it. It gets some red color inside. In full sun, this plant would get very red traps and grow even faster.

{{gwi:552019}}

Humidity in Malaysia is probably not the problem. Venus Flytraps like humidity, but they can adapt to very low humidity and grow very well.