Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dpolson37

My first pitcher plant

dpolson37
11 years ago

Hello all, this is my first time posting to this forum. I've been reading posts and learning lots. One thing I have yet to read much about or even find on Google searches is propogation. It seems like I might be able to propogate my pitcher plant from a cutting. Is this true? My plant is not old enough probably to do so, but when the time comes I'd like to try. How long does it need to grow before trimming off a cutting? I'll keep searching, but wanted to throw it out there is case someone can point me to a good source. These plants are becoming one of my favorites.

Dave
{{gwi:552271}}From Garden 2012

Comments (4)

• junglemel
    11 years ago

Hi Dave!

Yes you can easily propagate these by cuttings. You can take one of the vines and cut it off, I would at least cut a length 3 nodes or more, (about 3-4 leaves length.) I'll give you the way I do it, there are many different methods, but I can say I've has a 100% success rate doing the following:

Once you have your piece of vine cut off, cut the leaves in half horizontally across. This reduces moisture loss and a short length of vine doesn't need or want to support the leaves that were on it. It does still need some leaf for photosynthesis though.

Next cut a few lines about 1/4 inch upwards vertically into the outermost layer of the vine on what you want the base of the new plant to be. This isn't necessary, but will help roots grow faster as they won't need to break through the tough outer surface.