Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
elvinwei

beginner wants advice about growing nepenthes and sundew

elvinwei
16 years ago

hello~ i am new to this--i have an indoor growing area for orchids and got interested in CPs. i have one ping moranensis that is doing well, and plan on getting a few nepenthes, another ping, and a drosera.

i wanted to know if my conditions are ok for these:

Drosera spatulata 'Frasier'

Nepenthes sanguinea

Nepenthes ventricosa 'Red'

Ping primaflora

i am growing under 4 T8 forescent tubes plus 2 compact florescent bulbs (the screw shape ones)

is this enough light? i do not have a light meter but my orchids are doing well

neither do i have a humidity meter, but i think it is humid enough for the orchids. if need be, i do have a small terrarium that i keep my dracula orchids in

Comments (7)

• mutant_hybrid
    16 years ago

Hello elvinwei,

Pinguicula primuliflora would actually be easier to grow outdoors since it is a temperate perennial, but it does prefer partial sun, so artificial lights of the amount you specified would be great for them. If you could provide artificial dormancy for it, you could try to grow it indoors, but it will take extra work during winter to do so.

If you are doing well with the orchids, the Nepenthes you specified and the Spoon Leaf sundew, Drosera spatulata, would do just fine too. They really do not need high humidity, but could be grown in a terrarium if you like. Thye can all survive in regular household humidity just fine. Light is more important, which sounds good for them as well since all like partial sun, a good 6000 or so lumens that your 40 watt floros and compacts more than provide (sounds like you have about 16000 lumens with all of those lights). Just place them about 6-8 inches from the lights for good coloration and growth to occur.

• jonocross
    16 years ago