Return to the Carnivorous Plants Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Capensis humidity shock and light requirement

Posted by meltdown117 6 (Manhattan, NY) (My Page) on
Tue, May 1, 12 at 19:39

I ordered and received a D. Capensis Red about a week ago.
It came in a plastic "dome" (it was a transparent, plastic cup) in which contained my new CP.
When I lifted the cup, I could smell the aroma from all the dews and it made me delighted.
But being a total newbie, I did not know anything about plant shock back then and could only wonder why the plant wasn't producing any mucus.
How long will my plant be in shock? (It has been about a week so far)
I have been constantly giving it distilled water and placed it under three lamps (one 16 watt coiled fluorescent lamp and two 60 watt "plant lights" that use incandescent bulbs).

Also, is my lighting appropriate?
I live in an apartment in middle of Manhattan, and because of other buildings around me, my room doesn't get much sunlight. Thus, I ordered another 60 Watt incandescent light (in addition to what I already have), but I feel like it's going to roast my plant, so I'm thinking of returning my three incandescent lights and buy a 125 Watt CPL light from Hydrofarm instead. Should I continue with my plan or should I keep my current lighting?

Lastly, what would help my CP to produce some mucus? Will simply overcoming the humidity/shipping(it was in a box for three days) shock give rise to mucus?

I will post some pictures.
Thanks!

Photobucket

Photobucket

The CPL light I'm looking at:
http://www.amazon.com/Hydrofarm-FLCDG125D-125-Watt-Compact-Fluorescent/dp/B001UV6P9I/ref=cm_cmu_pg__header

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Capensis humidity shock and light requirement