Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
flower8750

setting up a bog terrarium

flower8750
16 years ago

Hi,

I am new to keeping carnivorous plants. I have four carnivorous plants right now. Three of them are doing great. The other one isn't doing as well, I'm hoping to get it going good again. The plants I have are two venus fly traps, one trumpet plant, and one picther plant. The plant that isn't doing well is the one venus fly trap. I got it from a nursery wednesay afternoon. The poor this looks like it needs to repotted badly and his soil was somewhat dry. Anyway, I would like to set up a bog terrarium for my carnivorous plants. I have an empty 10 gallon and an empty 20 gallon tank. Which one would you reccomend? What all would I need to set up a bog terrarium? Would I need to buy a growing light? How often do you feed carnivorous plants? I'd appreciate any advice and info anyone could give me.

Comments (7)

• mutant_hybrid
    16 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Hi flower8750,

The Venus Flytraps and Trumpet Pitcher are North American plants that really do not need a terrarium. Are you using the terrarium idea just to set up a bog and keep it open to air or do you intend to cover it for humidity? North American plants require open air and can adapt to low humidity. They also need full sun to grow properly and a terrarium would cook them if you put it in full sun. Another consideration would be drainage. A terrarium does not get much drainage, so bacterial rot and fungus could take hold and kill the plants.