Return to the Carnivorous Plants Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
When to collect VFT seeds?

Posted by ediblelizard (My Page) on
Tue, May 30, 06 at 20:38

Hi,

I've been looking around online for information on when to collect VFT seeds but all I get are ads to purchase some.

My VFT has been growing this very long flower stalk with quite a few buds at the top. It tried to grow a flower stalk last year but I pinched it off because I wanted it to be a bit older before I let it bloom. Now that a year has passed and summer is on its way, its trying to bloom again.

My question is, I was wondering how I can tell when it is ready to collect the seeds? Does it dry and I remove the pod? Or do I need to put a plastic bag over it because of the pod popping open to spread seeds everywhere?

I'm completely new to this territory. I've had this VFT for three years now. It was purchased from Wal-Mart or K-Mart or some store where it was already a grown VFT with a plastic cup as its 'dome'.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: When to collect VFT seeds?

The sign when to collect vft seeds is allowing the whole flowers to dry. usually , after pollinating all the flowers, the flowers will close, then the flower pod will swell a bit. when this happens just wait.

so the flower pods will swell, after a couple of weeks, they will begin to shrivel. just inspect each flower pod closely each day. they seeds will be revealed on their own, they will not spread all over the place if they are harvested in the right time. once the flower pod shrivels, it will reveal the seeds on its own, then that's the right time to collect seed. i am awaiting for my flower pods to reveal their seed. :) i already pollinated over.. 40 + flowers! and i still need to pollinate more. good luck.

o
seed harvest