Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sutallee

I just ordered some Venus Fly Traps.....Question

sutallee
16 years ago

I live in Canton Ga. just north of Atlanta. I always thought Venus Fly Traps were suposed to be grown indoors and in a terarium. How do you grow these? I would like to grow them outside if at all possible, can I grow them outside and if so how? Can I meake a small planting bed for them? Do I need to dig them up and bring them in for the winter? Any info would be helpfull.

I also ordered some Pitcher Plants, any info. for growing those also would be helpfull.

I have a green thumb but I am new to these linds of plants.

Thanks in advance,

Sutallee

Comments (5)

• mutant_hybrid
    16 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Hello sutalli,

Venus Flytraps are North American plants that go dormant in the winter and are best grown outside in full sun. They are just like any other plant except they require acid soil (sphagnum peat moss in the dry bales and regular perlite or horticultural sand with no additives to any ingrediants in 50/50 mix of moss to whichever drainage material you choose), no fertilizer in their soil media, and soft water like distilled, rain, or reverse osmosis water. Hard water, fertilizer, copper based, and soap based products would all be harmful to the plant as would any salts or minerals that add calcium, magnesium, potassium and such, not to mention the non-mineral nitrogen byproducts in fertilizer, to their soil. It is safe to say that almost all carnivorous plants are deadly allergic to fertilizers in their soil.

Venus Flytraps live in peat bogs in North Carolina, getting full sun, temperatures of 100 degrees Fahrenheit in summer max and down to 30 degrees or so in winter. From November to February they go dormant and rest, living off of their rhizome like root starch reserves, sometimes called a bulb.