Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mukaketupat

Byblis Liniflora germinated in 6 days! What should i do next?

mukaketupat
16 years ago

Heya guys.

So i tried sowing some seeds of liniflora that someone gave us and it germinated. I have no experience whatsoever in sowing seeds and this is my first time. What should i do next? I assume that CP seedlings is a little bit more complicated than any normal seedlings. Any advice?

Here's the photo and more info - http://pokok.gejala.org/2007/mukaketupat/carnivorous-plants/bliniflora-germinated-in-6-days/

Comments (3)

• ilbasso_74
    16 years ago

Hi.
    I'm growing my first seedlings of this species now as well. I planted several seeds and about 7 or 8 germinated. Of those, many didn't make it.

A big thing to remember, is not to disturb their roots. I had figured that a tiny, tiny seedling would be fine and I did transplant a few of those with a large chunk of dirt around them. Dead. Maybe I did something else wrong, but I'm not risking it now. I put a pot with 2 or 3 seedlings in a tank under lights and transferred another pot with one seedling from a tank to an east facing windowsill.

So far, the ones in the tank are largely ok. One seems to have taken a bad turn and the windowsill one just started looking questionable.

In "The Savage Garden", Peter mentions that they can be great bog garden candidates so I'm assuming that they really are tougher than some people make them out to be but I'm not going to mess with my existing ones anymore. I do know that everyone seems to suggest a peat/sand mix and not constantly waterlogged.

If they germinated that quickly, you must have pretty good conditions. Maybe you shouldn't do anything unless you have to. Are there enough that you can experiment with conditions?

• mukaketupat
    Original Author
    16 years ago